Tiramisu Torte – a work in progress!

A happy evening of experimentation in the Halo Baking Emporium and Chocolaterie in Moseley, Birmingham UK last night. Happy, but not entirely successful. I’ve been trying to create a gluten free version of my once infamously good tiramisu. The main obstacle has been the sponge finger biscuits; you simply cannot buy a gluten free version anywhere. (If you know of somewhere that you can, please do let me know!)

So instead I am working on a cake version; a gluten free Tiramisu Torte. I made this for the first time yesterday, four layers of medium hard sponge, coffee, liquor, marsala, mascarpone, dark chocolate shavings, and even home made from scratch zabaglione. It was so very nearly delicious, but the sponge let it down. It ended up being a little…squeaky. I know, who wants squeaky cake?

Almost perfect gluten free Tiramisu Torte. Bit squeaky though...

Almost perfect gluten free Tiramisu Torte. Bit squeaky though…

So, we ended up happily guzzling the constituent parts rather than the whole, but this is certainly an experiment I’ll come back to!

This was before the disappointment. I still thought I'd invented a thing of beauty at this stage.

This was before the disappointment. I still thought I’d invented a thing of beauty at this stage.

Wishing you better gluten free baking luck, Halo from the Halo Baking Emporium and Chocolaterie in Moseley Birmingham UK.

2 thoughts on “Tiramisu Torte – a work in progress!

Leave a Reply

