Savoury Start – new gluten free recipes coming soon!

Hello lovely readers. Yes, you are lovely, I can tell that from here. Much like little tweeting birds in a Disney film, change is in the air here at the Halo Baking Emporium and Chocolaterie. Recently I’ve received quite a few requests from readers and friends alike for gluten free recipes, that aren’t cake. I know, who doesn’t like cake?

Vegetable Quinoa Quiche - savoury, salty, and filling.

Vegetable Quinoa Quiche – savoury, salty, and filling.

I originally started this blog to share baking and sweet treat recipes, along with showcasing some of the more special wares I made for sale. I’ve been eating gluten free since early 2010, and no longer see it as difficult or special, so wasn’t convinced of the value there would be in photographing my salad lunch and describing the ingredients!

Easy and delicious recipes like this Quinoa Porridge coming soon!

Easy and delicious recipes like this Quinoa Porridge coming soon!

However, I do remember what it was like starting out; bewildered by packaging, scare stories and dire warnings ringing in my ears, and worried about being able to still create satisfying and healthy meals.

Turns out it’s easy. I know, I know, the standard thing is to wail about how hard it is to be gluten free, bemoan the lack of choice, and softly sob over the lack of decent doughnuts. Don’t get me wrong, I miss fresh gluten-full bread and jammy doughnuts as much as the next person would, but as I didn’t eat exclusively bread and doughnuts my range of available food hasn’t shrunk that much. In fact, it’s actually grown as I’ve made more use of ingredients I hadn’t used much before, like quinoa and teff.

Delicious Smokey Sweet Potato Burgers with Sweet Chilli Mayonnaise.

Delicious Smokey Sweet Potato Burgers with Sweet Chilli Mayonnaise.

When you are preparing your own food, eating gluten free really can be as easy as you want to make it. (Eating out is a different story.) But sometimes it can be hard to start out, especially when your mind keeps reverting back to pasta or sandwiches as a default option. (Like when someone tells you; “Don’t think of a pink elephant!”. What do you do? You think of a pink elephant. Likewise when you start trying to plan meals thinking; “Don’t think about gluten based dinners!” What do you do? You plan pasta pizza covered with doughnuts and breadsticks.)

So I’m going to start sharing some savoury and non-baking recipes as well, some simple, some really simple. (Salad – spoiler alert: it’s mainly leaves.) Hopefully if nothing else these will show just how full and varied your diet can be when you’re living gluten free, and inspire you to create your own versions of the dishes.

Chickpea and Peach Curry with Spicy Spinach Potatoes - hot, fruity, delicious, and frugal!

Chickpea and Peach Curry with Spicy Spinach Potatoes – hot, fruity, delicious, and frugal!

Although it may not have been obvious based on my repertoire of cakes, chocolates, tortes, tarts, and pies, I am passionate about healthy eating and living well. No, really. To me, the occasional homemade treat is an enjoyable and happy part of that, so the baking and chocolate recipes will still continue! Don’t be surprised to see the odd salad or soup in here too though over the next few months.

Slow Cooker Greek Lentil Soup, with creamy feta topping.

Slow Cooker Greek Lentil Soup, with creamy feta topping.

I hope you enjoy the new recipes as much as you’ve enjoyed the old, and as always, happy eating!

Halo from the Halo Baking Emporium and Chocolaterie in Moseley Birmingham, UK

Leave a Reply

