Gingerbread Quinoa Cake – gluten free, with link to recipe

A few days ago I saw a lovely recipe over on the jcooksglutenfree blog, for Gingerbread Quinoa Cake, and thought that I simply must try it. I’ve never made a cake with quinoa before, although I’ve used it liberally for breads, burgers, porridge and more. I was a little unsure about how it would turn out as a cake, but decided to give it a go!

I followed the recipe pretty much to the letter, although as always I did add more ginger – I like ginger!  If you want to do the same, here’s the recipe.

Here’s how it turned out.

Gingerbread Quinoa cake fresh out of the oven. It's not burnt.

Gingerbread Quinoa cake fresh out of the oven. It’s not burnt.

It looks really dark, even, dare I say it, burnt on top, but it wasn’t! Honest. That was just a lovely chewy layer helped to form by the maple syrup and molasses. I did have one issue with the cake, which I think you can see below.

The dreaded soggy bottom! Still ever so delicious though, so it's all been eaten, soggy bottom and all.

The dreaded soggy bottom! Still ever so delicious though, so it’s all been eaten, soggy bottom and all.

Too wet! As I was pouring the batter into the pan I thought it looked a lot more liquid than the pictures on j’s blog, and it was. Although still absolutely delicious, this is, I’m afraid, in true British Bake Off style, a soggy bottom situation.

I do know why though. I was in a bit of a hurry, and so didn’t drain the quinoa enough, putting it into the blender with a bit too much liquid from the pan in which it had been simmering. Lesson learned for next time, so my top tip here would be to make sure your quinoa is cooked, but not soaking when you start the blend.

A lovely delicious ginger and treacle tasting recipe that I can highly recommend! Even Mr Halo, who has a bit of a distaste for quinoa, went back for second helpings.

Hoping you never experience a soggy bottom, Halo from the Halo Baking Emporium and Chocolaterie in Moseley, Birmingham UK.

3 thoughts on “Gingerbread Quinoa Cake – gluten free, with link to recipe

  1. Fantastic, so glad you tried it!

    It seems like maybe you’re cooking quinoa like pasta rather than like rice? It should completely absorb the water it’s cooking in, takes about 12 minutes I would guess.

    But either way, I’m glad it still worked and tasted yummy!

Leave a Reply

